Holiday

Holidays are meant to be for relaxing and enjoying, right?

If only it was that simple…

The idea of going on holiday sounds great until you realise there’s actually a lot more thought that needs to go into it. Don’t get me wrong I love a good holiday but there’s no last minute jumping on a flight for me!

1. Airports

First things first : Security. Now I know airports and security checks can be stressful for anyone whether they have a medical condition or not. However, when you have three large bottles of medication to get through, the fun and games begin.

Luckily I have just come back from holiday and the security queues at Manchester were relatively small with little hassle. Coming back was not so easy as the Greek security were apprehensive as to what was in the bottles🤦🏻‍♀️ but I got through eventually and could relax. (well TRY to relax)

2. Actually Flying

This issue may just be me because I’ve never been a great flyer, however the whole time I am in the airport I am constantly dreading the time I will spend on the airplane. Now anyone who knows a little bit about epilepsy will know that stress can be a MAJOR trigger for seizures. So as well as stressing about flying I then also start stressing about having a seizure. It really is a vicious circle! With a large amount of reassurance and some good tunes downloaded on my phone I try to relax and “enjoy” the flight as much as possible.

3. Time Differences

Now this one may have some of you thinking “why is time difference such an issue?”….

Well when you have to take medication at a specific time morning and night each day it becomes a problem.🤦🏻‍♀️ An hour or so ahead is not too much of an issue and I’m yet to venture further afield. However, the idea of calculating when to have my medication in a time zone that is, for example, 8 hours ahead doesn’t even bear thinking about!

/ This may seem like a very negative post but I just wanted to raise awareness of the struggles people with epilepsy or any medical condition for that matter, may face when travelling. /

One important thing to take from this is do not let anything stop you!!I have just come back from Greece and already have 3 more trips planned!

Molly x

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.