Driving , or the lack of it.

“I’ve just bought my first car” & “I’ve just passed my driving test” are very common phrases you hear between the ages of 17 and 21.

Being a 19 year old uni student you really can’t avoid the conversations about learning to drive. Now don’t get me wrong, I’m really happy that people have the opportunity to learn to drive and are able to take their test at a young age. However, not being able to learn to drive myself (I haven’t yet been seizure free long enough😥) it is something that really gets to me from time to time.

It may sound daft and you may think : why’s she moaning, it could be worse? Well yes it really could, but for me learning to drive was always a milestone I wanted to face at a young age. The freedom of going where you want, when you want no matter the distance. Even just being able to have an extra 15 minutes in bed on a Monday morning because you can drive to work instead of walking. It really is the little things in life that people often take for granted.

Now you currently have to be seizure free for one year in order to apply for your provisional driving license (there’s a chance this can be declined if the doctors do not believe you are well enough to drive but I won’t go into that). I’m currently keeping everything crossed that come November I will be hitting the “apply” button and be waiting to hear if I can finally get on the road 🚗. My bank balance would not be so happy with the cost of driving lessons, cars and petrol these days!!

Learning to drive and owning my first car always has been and always will be a goal of mine. In a sense, having epilepsy has made me even more focused on this. Whether it’s in the next year or the next 10 years I’m determined I’ll get there🙌🏼.

Hopefully I’ll have an update on this in November!

Molly

P.s. You may want to stay off the roads if I ever do learn to drive😂.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.